bursary winners and superintendents

Congratulations to our 2018 Ontario Parks Partners Bursary recipients!

The summer student workforce is the life-blood of the Ontario Parks summer operating season. Our provincial parks simply could not operate without our student workers.

Today, Minister Rod Phillips, local MPPs, park staff, corporate partners and — of course — our wonderful students gathered in Peterborough to award the 2018 Ontario Parks Partners Bursaries.

The Ontario Parks Partners Bursary was established in 2000 by several Ontario Parks corporate partners to recognize students who excel in their jobs with Ontario Parks. The $500.00 awards acknowledge the innovation and leadership of young people who work in Ontario’s provincial parks.

Our 2018 winners drew praise for their roles as mentors, educators and innovators. Whether they were administering First Aid, managing recycling programs or sharing park history and heritage with visitors, each student went above and beyond to earn their nomination.

Special congratulations to Lili Paradi, who received the Amber Booth Award

Amber Booth Award winner 2018

This award carries special recognition for bursary recipients whose efforts stand out in the areas of health, safety and wellness.

On numerous occasions, Lili helped campers with mobility issues to navigate Killbear’s trails, contributing to positive visitor experiences. Lili also helped reunite a lost child with her parents, demonstrating a calm and professional manner throughout the incident.

Without the support of the following partners, the bursary program would not be possible

Since 2000, our corporate partners have provided over $250,000 to our students.

Big thanks to our 2018 partners!

Bush's Beans Coleman Edge Screen Studios
Friends of Algonquin Park Friends of Charleston Lake
Friends of Frontenac friends of Killbear Friends of Murphys Point
friends of pinery Friends of Rushing River Friends of Sandbanks
Pepsi Wayfarer RVs

This song from our “Singing Superintendent” Scott Thomas commemorates all the amazing work and passion our summer students bring to parks:

Congratulations to all our 2018 winners!

bursary winners and superintendents

Shannon Bailey
Komoka Provincial Park
Chloe Belanger
Samuel de Champlain Provincial Park
Alana Bellamy
Presqu’ile Provincial Park
Olivia Bennett
Algonquin Provincial Park
Addie Bethune
Emily Provincial Park
Hedy Cartmill
Darlington Provincial Park
Solange Coutu
Ivanhoe Lake Provincial Park
Olivia Czipf
Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
Katherine Doucette
Rideau River Provincial Park
Abigail Fazakas
Rondeau Provincial Park
Jake Guggenheimer
Rainbow Falls Provincial Park
Nicole Henderson
Killarney Provincial Park
Rebecca Jackson
Charleston Lake Provincial Park
Ben Jansen
Long Point Provincial Park
Faith King
Quetico Provincial Park
Tanner Klein
Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park
Hailey Lively
Halfway Lake Provincial Park
Natasha Luckovitch
Algonquin Provincial Park
Courtney Marriott
Rushing River Provincial Park
Kraig Matthews
Grundy Lake Provincial Park
Sarah McCauley
Bonnechere Provincial Park
Rebecca McLaurin
Fitzroy Provincial Park
Nancy Moffitt
Silent Lake Provincial Park
Jayme Mutchmor
Lake Superior Provincial Park
Maya Oversby
Blue Lake Provincial Park
Ella Pantaleo
Arrowhead Provincial Park
Lili Paradi
Killbear Provincial Park
Aaron Payne
Mono Cliffs Provincial Park
Allie Plue
Six Mile Lake Provincial Park
Morgan Racz
Port Burwell Provincial Park
Bailey Rongits
Turkey Point Provincial Park
Alissa Sallans
Bon Echo Provincial Park
Isaac Sanderson
Frontenac Provincial Park
Tyler Shalla
Algonquin Provincial Park
Evan Skinn
Point Farms Provincial Park
Gina Spiridaki
Inverhuron Provincial Park
Riley Teal
Silver Lake Provincial Park
Zachary Westerberg
Restoule Provincial Park
Noah Whitman
Esker Lakes Provincial Park
Nicholas Ypelaar
Awenda Provincial Park

You truly do put the heart into the park!